The Rockford IceHogs finished the 2016-17 season with a disappointing record of 25-39-9-3, but the season had plenty of highlights.  Prior to the season finale last weekend, several players received awards from the team.

The award ceremony featured a fan presenting the specific player with the award.  I’m not sure who was more excited, the award-winning players or the award-presenting fans.  I do know that the sellout crowd greeted every announcement with thunderous applause.

This season’s recognitions included:

Rockford IceHogs Most Valuable Player: Brandon Mashinter (Photo credit:
Rockford IceHogs Rookie of the Year: Luke Johnson (Photo credit:
Rockford IceHogs Defenseman of the Year: Eric Gustafsson (Photo credit:
Rockford IceHogs Unsung Hero: Martin Lundberg (Photo credit:
Rockford IceHogs Heavy Hitter: Chris DeSousa (Photo credit:
Rockford IceHogs Most Improved Player: Kyle Baun (Photo credit:
Rockford IceHogs Man of the Year: Pierre-Cedric Labrie (Photo credit:

John Wroblewski

John Wroblewski is a freelance writer, who covers the Rockford IceHogs and writes general interest pieces for Puck Planet. His writing career really started over twenty years ago, as a guest columnist for a Chicagoland community newspaper group. John has written several articles for Global Traveler magazine, along with being a regular online contributor. In 2008, he started Johngy’s Beat, a site focused on meeting celebrities, athletes and pop culture icons. His Johngy’s Beat YouTube channel has over 800 interviews. Currently, John regularly covers the IceHogs, the Chicago Bandits (National Pro Fastpitch), the Chicago Bliss (Legends Football League), Resistance Pro Wrestling and many comic cons around the country.

Leave a Reply